Faculty and Staff Notes

Published December 11, 2013

Christine Lancaster, coordinator of advising in the College of Education's Office of Academic Services, received the National Academic Advising Association (NACADA) 2013 award for Service to the Commission, Advising Education Majors Commission. NACADA is an association of professional advisors, counselors, faculty, administrators, and students working to enhance the educational development of students.

Toni Jones and Deborah Harmon, both professors in the Department of Teacher Education, are part of a group led by Zachary Moore, an assistant professor in EMU's Department of Geography and Geology, that has received a $200,000 grant from the Michigan Department of Education to fund the Wayne County U.S. History and Geography Project.

Valerie Polakow, professor in the Department of Teacher Education, was the recipient of the 2013 Graduate Mentoring Award. The Graduate Mentoring Awards honors, awards and encourages faculty mentors whose dedication and commitment to excellence in graduate education and mentoring have made a significant contribution to the quality of life and professional development of graduate students at Eastern Michigan University.