Student Notes

Published March 17, 2015

Jennifer Koppin, Casey Edgars, Ashley Powers, and Erica Melhberg were recognized as Teachers of Promise at the Network of Michigan Educators' 2014 Recognition Banquet and Conference for being outstanding pre-service teachers. Each of the awardees is paired/teamed with a mentor teacher who is either a National Board Certified Teacher or a Michigan Teacher of the Year (MI-TOY) in their subject area. The mentorship comes with invitations to events and many opportunities for professional growth and improvement through interactions with one of Michigan's recognized teachers of excellence. For a first year teacher, it is often an inspiring opportunity. Over the years, several of these young new teachers have become Teachers of the Year themselves.

  • Three freshmen education majors were awarded EMU's prestigious Presidential Scholarship beginning with the 2014-15 academic year:
    • Dana Murray, of Woodhaven, Michigan, plans to pursue a degree in elementary education. Upon graduation, she hopes to use her degree to teach elementary English to children in schools overseas. 
    • Kiersten Olsen, of Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, plans to pursue a degree in special education K-12, with an endorsement in cognitive impairment. She also hopes to receive a minor in elementary education mathematics.
    • Nadine Sabri, of Canton, Michigan, plans to pursue a degree in secondary education.
  • Educational Studies doctoral students Heather Nicholson-Bester, Stacey Jackson, and Kimberly Freeman were awarded King Chávez Parks Future Faculty Fellowships from EMU during the 2014-15 academic year. The fellowship program is funded by the State of Michigan's Workforce Development Agency and administered by the Graduate School. The purpose of the King Chávez Parks Future Faculty Fellowship is to increase the pool of traditionally underrepresented candidates pursuing careers in postsecondary education and subsequently promote inclusivity and diversity in U.S. colleges and universities.