Awards and Recognitions

Outstanding Contributions to Interdisciplinarity

This award recognizes a colleague who has made a sustained contribution to interdisciplinary teaching, scholarship, curriculum development, programs and/or activities. 

The winner of the 2023 Outstanding Contributions to Interdisciplinarity Award is Dr. Elisabeth Däumer, Professor of English. 

Previous recipients of this award are:

  • 2022 Heather Khan Welsh
  • 2021 Renée Lajiness-O'Neill
  • 2020 Marty Shichtman
  • 2019 Tom Kovacs 

Wanda J. Monks Staff Member of the Year

This award recognizes a staff member who has demonstrated outstanding work on behalf of the college and/or unit therein, whether through dedicated performance over a period of time or through work performed on behalf of a project or initiative. The award honors the legacy of Wanda J. Monks for her distinguished 44-year career serving multiple units across the University, and, most notably, her resolute dedication to strengthening and advancing the mission and operations of the College of Arts & Sciences. 

The winner of the 2023 Wanda J. Monks Staff Member of the Year Award is Tanya Johnson, Science Complex Manager.

Previous recipients of this award are:

  • 2022 Ila Grant
  • 2021 Tracey Grant

Distinguished Service Award

The inaugural recipient of this award for 2021 was Steve Martin.

University-wide Awards

Skip Section Navigation