Banner image
direct edit

College of Arts & Sciences

Student Opportunities

Student Travel Funds

Whether you're a current, returning or prospective student at Eastern Michigan University, the College of Arts and Sciences welcomes you and your interest in becoming part of our student community. 

CAS is one of the most vast and diverse Colleges at EMU, currently boasting more than 125 programs of study. These programs range from biology, psychology, math and geography to world languages, computer science, art and criminology--reflecting not only the diversity of our faculty, staff, students and their interests, but also the range of research, resources and knowledge our College has to offer. 

Those who graduate with degrees from CAS often enter field-related jobs in business, industry, government and community agencies: fields full of opportunity for promising individuals. 

Please take the time to consider our many departments as you move forward with your academic career. 

The College is pleased to offer some funding support for student travel related to research and creative activity:

Student Travel Fund Guidelines

Team Participation - Student Travel Fund Guidelines

International Travel Request

Undergraduate Research Stimulus Award

The Undergraduate Research Stimulus Program (URSP) is intended to facilitate research partnerships between undergraduate students and faculty. Student awardees will receive a $2,000 fellowship in support of their research efforts. This award is in the form of credit to the student's university account. To complete the online application, click here.

2015 URSP Recipients and Faculty Mentors

Cristina Bugescu (majoring in Biology). “Passive Integrated Transponder (PIT) Tag Loss in Unisexual Ambystoma Salamander and Full Blues-potted (A. laterale) Salamander.” Faculty mentor: Katherine Greenwald (Department of Biology).

Nicole Bush (majoring in Biology). “Physiological Adaptations in Extreme Environments.” Faculty mentor: Jamie Cornelius (Department of Biology).

Andrew Durden (majoring in Professional Biochemistry & Mathematics). “Modeling the chemical synthesis of pyrrolidines.” Faculty mentor: Maria Milletti (Department of Chemistry).

Alaa Hasan (majoring in Anthropology). “Estimation age of menarche from an Early Medieval French skeletal sample from North France” Faculty mentor: Megan K. Moore (Department of Sociology, Anthropology & Criminology).

Hallee Kansman (majoring in Biology). “The effects of road salt inputs on the stratification and nutrient dynamics of inland lakes in Southeast Michigan.” Faculty mentor: Kristin Judd (Department of Biology).

Bridget Kennedy (majoring in Biochemistry). “Isolation of Yeast Mutants to Study the Role of Atg9 in Autophagy.” Faculty mentor: Steven Backues (Department of Chemistry).

Nathan Kilian (majoring in Biology & Chemisrty). “Short Interspersed DNA Elements and their use as a Phylogenetic Marker among Peromyscus.” Faculty mentor: David Kass (Department of Biology).

Gannon LeBlanc (majoring in Economics). “The Influence Of Crytocurrency On Entrepreneurship.” Faculty mentor: James Saunoris (Department of Economics).

Samantha Malley (majoring in Biology). “Tarantula Personalities: Effects of Age and Environmental Enrichment.” Faculty mentor: Cara Shillington (Department of Biology).

Amy Markowitz (majoring in Biology). “Synthesis of Ethacrynic Acid Derivatives: Modifying the α,β-unsaturated Carbonyl System of Organic Drug Compounds for Use in Cancer Therapy.” Faculty mentor: Ingo Janser (Department of Chemistry).

Michelle Newkirk (majoring in Engineering Physics). “Variability in Mars’ atmosphere as observed by Mars Global Surveyor.” Faculty mentor: David Pawlowski (Department of Physics & Astronomy).

Joshua Nickles (majoring in International Affairs). “Ixhil Maya Communities of Populations in Resistance in Guatemala.” Faculty mentor: Maria Luz Garcia (Department of Sociology, Anthropology & Criminology).

Ahmed Oudief (majoring in General Chemistry/Biology). “Stereoselective Synthesis of Building Blocks of Pharmaceuticals and Organic Catalysts.” Faculty mentor: Harriet Lindsay (Department of Chemistry).

Spencer Rynberg (majoring in Biology). “Neurophysiological Evidence of a Salt Substitute.” Faculty mentor: Joseph Breza (Department of Psychology).

Robert Witting (majoring in Computer Science). “Multicopter Navigation Using Simultaneous Localization and Mapping” Faculty mentor: William Sverdlik (Department of Computer Science).

Student Leadership 2015-2016

The College has designated student representatives to the Student Leader Group, who report to the Board of Regents, and to Graduate Council, the faculty input body who advises Faculty Senate and the Associate Vice President for Graduate Studies and Research:

Rasheed Jamal Atwater, majoring in Africology and African American Studies.  He states, "As the President and Treasurer of the Society of Africology I have met and worked with many leaders on campus, in Ypsilanti, and throughout the state of Michigan and have learned from them how to create and reform policies and plans of action. As a former coach and continued mentor I know what it means to motivate and set a strong example for everyone around me. As a member of the Student Leader Group I will represent the students of Eastern Michigan University, the youth of Ypsilanti, The Society of Africology, Departments of History and Africology and African American Studies and the Michigan Army National Guard. I will add to the Student Leader Group’s discipline, determination, creativity, community engagement, and resources."


Faculty ResourcesGive to the College of Arts & Sciences

Need Help? Contact us. College of Arts & Sciences, 214 Pray-Harrold, Ypsilanti, MI 48197, 734.487.4344

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • youtube
  • linked in
  • Blog EMU
  • EMU app