36th Annual Celebration of Student Writing

More than 800 First-Year Writing Students “Go Public” with Their Research

On April 11th, more than 800 students in EMU's First-Year Writing Program will participate in the 36th Semiannual Celebration of Student Writing (CSW) in the Grand Ballroom of the Student Center. During the 2-hour event, students will share research and speak about issues and concerns that matter to them: from the still-present Flint water crisis and lesser known niches of animal abuse, to athletic injuries and systemic healthcare inequities.

All CSW student projects emerge from student work in WRTG 121: Composition II, Researching the Public Experience (part of the Effective Communication Area of EMU's General Education program), where students not only gather secondary research from academic and popular sources, but also conduct primary research using a variety of methods (including survey, interview, observation, site visits). Students then “go public” with their writing and research, as part of the course, using a variety of genres: posters, interactive games, infographics, brochures, videos, interactive installations, drawings, and handmade books.

The CSW is made possible by those who support First-Year Writing on EMU’s campus, including our students, writing instructors, and the Department of English Language and Literature. The First-Year Writing Program owes special thanks to Laura Kovick and Joe Montgomery, two of our dedicated writing instructors who plan and facilitate the event.

Now in its 17th year, the CSW offers WRTG 121 students the opportunity to transform their research writing for presentation to a public audience of fellow undergraduates as well as other members of the EMU campus community--like you.

All campus community members are welcome for this event that is free and open to the public. We hope to see you stop by during our two-hour window, to see the great work that First-year Writing students will create!

For more information on the CSW, contact Rachel Gramer, Associate Director of the First-Year Writing Program.