Graduate School Scholarships

There is one application cycle per year. The deadline is June 15, 2019 for 2019–20 scholarships. Please visit the scholarship links below to view more in-depth financial aid information.

Barton Endowed Scholarship

The Barton Endowed Scholarship is a one-time competitive award for graduates of an Eastern Michigan University undergraduate program.

To be considered for this award, students must have earned their baccalaureate degree from Eastern Michigan University with a minimum 3.5 cumulative GPA. The applicant must be admitted to or currently in a graduate degree program. Upon receiving the award, the applicant must enroll in and complete up to 16 credit hours for the academic year. Courses can be taken in fall/winter/summer semesters of the same academic year for which the award is granted. Past recipients of this scholarship are not eligible for future awards. 

University Scholarship

The University Scholarship is a distinction of honor awarded to select graduate students on the basis of academic merit and demonstrated outstanding leadership and service. Initial scholarship awards may range from $500 to $4,000 per year for full-(eight credit hours per semester) or part-time (four credit hours per semester) enrollment. Incoming graduate students must have a minimum 3.6 cumulative undergraduate GPA for consideration.

Currently enrolled graduate students must have a 3.8 GPA in their program of study. Priority is given to students not receiving other kind of aid, such as a graduate assistantship. Awards are competitive and distributed among all graduate academic programs. While a student is not restricted to applying for subsequent awards, future awards may be distributed at a reduced amount.

Brenner Scholarship

The Anton Brenner Endowed Scholarship is a one-time award of $500 to recognize outstanding academic performance and achievement by graduate students. Applicants must have demonstrated achievements in publication, research, service to the community or campus or artistic performance/exhibits. Applicants must have completed at least 10 graduate credit hours by the end of the semester in which they apply for this scholarship, and have a minimum of 3.5 cumulative GPA. Further, they must enroll in and complete at least one graduate course during the fall semester.

Goldenberg and Schreiber Graduate Endowed Scholarship

The Goldenberg and Schreiber Graduate Endowed Scholarship is a one-time competitive award that pays $300-$500 to new or continuing graduate student. Qualified students must be U.S. citizens, admitted into a degree program and attending full time. 

To be considered for this award, students must have earned a minimum 3.0 GPA on their baccalaureate degree. Current graduate students must have a minimum 3.4 GPA. Further applicants must have demonstrated university or community activity and engagement. 

The application deadline is June 15 for the following academic year.

For information about EMU scholarships and the University Fellowship, contact Dr. Tana Bridge via email at or via phone at 734.487.4877.

Graduate Student Research Support Fund

The Graduate Student Research Support Fund provides small grants of up to $750 to graduate students to support dissertation or thesis research. To qualify for this award, students must be currently enrolled, in good academic standing and have an approved thesis or dissertation proposal. Funds may be used to purchase research-related supplies, materials and equipment; travel to archives and field research sites (not conference travel); survey preparation and/or production; and incentives to recruit research participants.

Proposals may be submitted July through June. Proposals received by 5:00 p.m. on the 20th of any month (July through June) will constitute a competitive pool for one award cycle.


Skip Section Navigation