Department of Chemistry

541 Mark Jefferson Science Complex

Ypsilanti, Michigan 48197


Distinguished Faculty Award Winners

The following Chemistry Faculty members have won Distinguished Faculty Awards since their inception in 1977.  These awards were renamed after Ronald W. Collins, Provost and Professor of Chemistry, after his passing in 2001.  He received the Senior Teaching Award the first year of the awards.

A photo of Deborah Heyl-Clegg with her award.
A photo of Deborah Heyl-Clegg with her award.


  • Ross Nord, Teaching II, 2021
  • Hedeel Guy-Evans, Research II, 2019
  • Amy Flanagan Johnson, Teaching I, 2010
  • Ruth Ann Armitage, Research II, 2010
  • Deborah Heyl-Clegg, Research II, 2009
  • Michael J. Brabec, Scholarly/Creative Activity, 1990
  • Krishnaswamy Rengan, Research & Publication, 1987
  • Ronald M. Scott, Senior Teaching, 1984
  • Giles F. Carter, Research & Publication, 1983
  • Stewart Work, University Service, 1981
  • Ellene (Nina) Contis, Junior Teaching, 1979
  • Stephen W. Brewer, Senior Teaching, 1978
  • Ronald W. Collins, Senior Teaching, 1977
  • John W. Moore, Service, Research, & Publication, 1977

Note that separate awards are given in some categories depending upon years of experience (I for four years or less, II for five or more years).  In teaching, these were called the Junior and Senior Teaching Awards until 1989.  In 1981, the Service, Research, & Publication Award was divided into two awards (Research & Publication and University Service).  In 1989, the Research & Publication Award was renamed the Scholarly/Creative Activity Award.  In 2008, this award was separated into the Research I, Research II, and Creative Activity Awards.  In 1981, the University Service Award was renamed the Service to the University Award.

Teaching Excellence Awards

Each year since 1991, the EMU Alumni Association has presented Teaching Excellence Awards to faculty members who have demonstrated excellence in the classroom.  The list of Chemistry Department Faculty who have received one of these awards is presented below:

A photo of Cory Emal with his award.
A photo of Cory Emal with his award.


  • Cory Emal, 2013
  • Heather Holmes, 2006
  • Michael Brabec, 1997
  • Ross Nord, 1996
  • Stephen Brewer, 1995

Additional Recognitions

  • Steven Pernecky was EMU's nominee for the fourth annual Michigan Professor of the Year award in 2009
  • Ronald Scott received a State of Michigan Teaching Excellence Award in 1990

Skip Section Navigation